WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature which will let you delete messages up to seven minutes after sending them. People prone to sending drunk missives will find the feature VERY useful
WE’VE all sent a message we’ve regretted and wished we could turn back time.
Now WhatsApp is reportedly introducing a face-saving feature which will let users “recall” embarrassing messages.
But it’s been claimed that this game-changing feature will be rolled out to all users in the next update.
It wrote: “WhatsApp is finally rolling out for iOS, Android, Windows Phone users the possibility to recall messages, allowing you to definitely delete messages in chats and groups if the recipients have the latest WhatsApp version installed.
“This feature is now called Delete for Everyone.”
WhatsApp has also published a guide on how to “delete messages for everyone” on its website.
It wrote: “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats. Similarly, if you see ‘this message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
Respond to a specific WhatsApp message in an individual or group chat “You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.”
To delete messages once they have been sent, just tap and hold the message, tap delete and then press delete for everyone.
However, to do this successfully both the person who sent a message and the person receiving it must be using the latest version of WhatsApp.
“Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if the deletion was not successful,” WhatsApp warned.
“You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.”
The recall feature works for any type of message including text, images and videos.
However, people can still take a screenshot of your shameful messages, so we’d still advise being cautious before hitting the send button.
Post a Comment
Drop Your Comment Here